Blogging about… well… blogging.

So, as I’ve stated before, I am an awful blogger.

Sporadic.

Inconsistent.

Neglectful.

A myriad disparaging words come to mind when I think of myself as a blogger. That being said, I refuse – refuse! – to give up and continue to try and figure out what the heck I want to accomplish with my blog. According to Teri Lynne Underwood from designbyinsight, I need to answer some basic questions:

How often do I plan to post?
What types of posts do I enjoy writing?
How much time does it take for me to write and promote each post?
Who are the primary and secondary audiences of my blog?
What is the information they are looking for when they read my blog?

Here goes…

Question #1: How often do I plan to post?

For some reason, I feel that a successful blogger needs to post at least once a week. I am not sure where I got that idea, it may be completely unfounded but this is my perception nonetheless. What I am sure of is that, I cannot justify spending the time it takes to blog once a week; between work, exercise, cooking, chores, sleeping, sewing, and more work, I don’t know where I can find or make the time. So I answer a question with a question, “Is posting monthly acceptable?” I’d like to say, yes, because isn’t consistent better than erratic?

Answer: Monthly

Question #2: What types of posts do I enjoy writing?

I’m a “meta” kind of person: I like to write and think about thinking. Like this post: I am actually enjoying rambling on and on like this. What I really should be writing about is sewing because that would relate most to questions #4 and 5.

Answer: Sewing Inspiration?

Question #3: How much time does it take for me to write and promote each post?

I don’t really want to spend more than a few hours writing and promoting the post (by the way, I don’t even know what the right way is to promote a post.)

Answer: Two hours?

Question #4: Who are the primary and secondary audiences of my blog?

I can only speak to what I would like my audiences to be. I would like my audience to consist of potential or past customers and fellow sewists.

Answer: Potential/past customers and fellow sewists.

Question #5: What is the information they are looking for when they read my blog?

Hmm, no clue. What would they like to see? Do they want to learn about me? Do they want to learn about my creative process? Do they want to learn about sewing? Maybe I can create a survey?

Answer: IDK

Ok, so these are my first steps. Next steps for next month:

1. Schedule a day and time for writing my post.

2. Draft a poll to figure out what readers might like to see.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

